About Carnarvon

Meet the board

Peter J Leonhardt

Chairman FCA, FAICD (Life)

Peter is an independent company director and adviser with extensive business, financial and corporate experience. He is a Chartered Accountant, former Senior Partner with PricewaterhouseCoopers and Managing Partner of Coopers & Lybrand in Western Australia. His professional career with the firm spanned 35 years in Australia and overseas and included six years as a member of the national governing body of Coopers & Lybrand.

Peter was Chairman of Voyager Energy Ltd prior to its merger with ARC Energy Ltd and is a director of CTI Logistics Ltd. He is also a director of the Cancer Research Trust and retired as a director of The Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research in April 2016 following 17 years’ service.

Mr Leonhardt is a member of the Audit Committee and the Renumeration Committee.

Adrian Cook

Managing Director, Chief Executive Officer B Bus, CA, MAppFin

Adrian has 25 years experience in commercial and financial management, primarily in the petroleum industry. Immediately prior to joining Carnarvon, Adrian was the Managing Director of Buru Energy Limited, an ASX listed oil and gas exploration and production company with interests in the Canning Basin in Western Australia. Adrian has also held senior executive positions within Clough Limited’s oil and gas construction business and was executive at ARC Energy Limited, an ASX listed mid cap oil and gas exploration and production company.

Adrian joined Carnarvon on 2 November 2009 and was appointed to the Board on 1 July 2011.

William (Bill) Foster

Lead Independant Director BE (Chemical), MAICD

Bill is an internationally experienced energy executive who has worked with Chevron, a Middle Eastern National Oil Corporation as well as US and ASX listed independents. He spent 30 years with Marubeni Corporation as Energy Advisor until his recent retirement, assisting in the development of their Oil, Gas and LNG business. During this time, a global business was established with Tokyo, London, Houston, Singapore and Perth offices. Mr Foster was a director of Marubeni’s various exploration and production subsidiaries.

Bill’s activities have covered a broad range of industry and he has extensive, commercial, financial and mergers and acquisitions experience as well as that from his engineering background.

During the past three years Bill was a director of Hawkley Oil and Gas Limited as well as formerly being a director of Tap Oil Limited.

Mr Foster is Carnarvon’s Lead Independent Director, Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Remuneration and Nomination Committee.

Dr Peter Moore

Non-Executive Director

Peter has extensive experience in exploration and production in Australia and internationally gained through senior roles with a number of globally recognised companies. Peter led Woodside’s worldwide exploration efforts as the Executive Vice President Exploration reporting to the CEO and was the Head of the Geoscience function (Exploration, Development, Production, M&A).

Gavin Ryan

Non-Executive Director LLB (Hons), MAICD

Mr Ryan is a lawyer who has extensive legal and commercial skills in oil and gas gained through an extensive international career with organisations such as BHP Petroleum, BP, PTTEP and Shell. Mr Ryan has experience in government dealing, production sharing contracts and petroleum project construction contracts.